Skip to content

Making Love on a Train

February 6, 2008
by
This about how I would describe my commute this morning on the RER. Okay, I was ready for the crowded trains, but this was a new experience. I set out for my first day at about 8:15. Caught the Métro at Parmentier and got off at Opéra where the RATP site had told me to transfer to the RER A train, which would be the fastest route to the de Gaulle Etoille.Okay, let me just say that faster is not the same as better in this case. I waited on the end of the platform for the train and it came up short. Rookie mistake. So I walked up toward the middle and waited for the next train. Even though I was only about two deep in the scrum, I did not get on the next train. But some of the people in front of me really, really wanted to get on that train. And they did. Oh boy! Does this look like fun!

So the next train comes and the fun begins. The doors open and people get off and then I get on. It’s crowded, but not unbearable. Then it comes. A slow steady push from the people behind me, who really, really want to get on this train. And they do. I’m squeezed forward into the woman in front of me, slowly and steadily, by the crowd behind me. My left arm is holding my bag and my right arm is pinned at my side. I am pushed forward so that all my weight is on my left foot. If the people in front of me move away, I will likely fall forward. I should be so lucky.

I remain in this kind of suspended animation for the duration of the one-stop trip from Auber to the CdG Etoille. The doors open and I struggle to shift my weight back to both feet before I just get sucked into the vortex and end up who knows where. I manage to regain my balance and get out of the train before I get trapped by the next group that really, really wants to get on the train. I need to get to the Métro to continue my commute, but I see the exit sign.

Diving officer! Emergency blow! Surface, surface, surface!

I just followed the heard to the surface and enjoyed a nice little walk and some fresh, cool air from one Métro entrance to another and took in the view of the Arc de Triomphe. Then it was back to the Métro to complete the journey.

First, I had to find a new ticket, because the machine at the RER exit wouldn’t take mine. Shit. I turned around to let the other’s pass, but the woman behind me said something and gestured forward as she waved her Navigo pass over the sensor, allowing me to pass through the turnstile. I just said, “Merci” and kept on going, but I wonder how she got through. I assume it locked up on her. She probably said, “Jump over it, idiot! You’re in my way!” Oh well.

The slower but not as crowded Métro arrived at La Défense about an hour and fifteen minutes after I started my journey. Thank God I don’t have to commute from the 11th arrondissement after we move into our apartment!

I think I will go back to my US schedule and go to the gym in the morning. That way, I’ll be on the Metro while most Parisians are having their coffee & croissant. Of course, when I told my French colleagues this story, their reaction was basically, WTF did you expect?

Which brings us to the apartment update. Our agent never called us on Friday. Or Saturday. So we never got the keys or a copy of the lease. So Sarah is not in school yet. Danielle and I are taking turns going to work.

We also got word that the SS Neverontime has been delayed again. Our stuff is scheduled to arrive on Saturday now. Who knows how long it will take to clear customs and get trucked to Paris. I’m really getting sick of the hotel. I’m already sick of the commute to work and I’ve only done it once!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Andrei permalink
    February 8, 2008 8:36 am

    Hilarious! I read your post almost with Schadenfreude. One year from today you’ll look back and all of this will probably seem mundane 🙂

    I hope you eventually get your apartment and things get to… dare I say… normal?

    Good luck!

Leave a comment